Arts, News

Hurston/Wright Foundation Announced Its 2015 Legacy Award Nominees

Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright
Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright

The Zora Neal Hurston and Richard Wright Foundation, which celebrates writing by African American authors, has announced the 2015 nominees for its Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards.

The awards are given for fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

The nominees for poetry are:”Revising the Storm” by Geffrey Davis, “We Didn’t Know Any Gangsters” by Brian Gilmore, “Digest” by Gregory Pardio, “The Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon,” by Willie Perdomo and “Citizen: An American Lyric” Claudia Rankine and “King Me” by Roger Reeves.

The nominees for nonfiction are: “Our Declaration,” by Danielle Allen, “This Nonviolent Stuff’ll Get You Killed” by Charles E. Cobb, “Fire Shut Up in My Bones” by Charles Blow, “Malcolm X at Oxford Union” by Saladin Ambar, “Losing Our Way” by Bob Herbert and “Not for Everyday Use” by Elizabeth Nunez.

The nominees for fiction are: “The Secret History of Las Vegas” by Chris Abani, “An Untamed State” by Roxane Gray, “The Moor’s Account” by Laila Lalami, “The Orchard of Lost Souls” by Nadifa Mohamed and “Land of Love and Drowning” by Tiphanie Yanique.

The award ceremony is scheduled for Oct. 23 at the Washington Plaza Hotel in Washington, D.C.

For further information visit website Hurston/Wright Foundation.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *