Formula 1

Hamilton wins fourth Formula 1 world drivers’ championship

Lewis Hamilton

Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton won his fourth world drivers’ championship at Sunday’s Mexico Grand Prix in Mexico City before 100,000 cheering fans.

Hamilton, a black Englishman, didn’t have to win the race but he had to finish high enough among 20 other drivers to take home the driver of the year trophy.

At one point, Hamilton was in 20th place but he continued to move up in the standings as the race progressed.

Hamilton finished ninth in Mexico City and he won the world title with 333 points with two races remaining—the Brazil Grand Prix on November 12 and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on November 26.

Hamilton adds this victory to world drivers’ championships he won in 2008, 2014 and 2015.

Max Verstappen who drives for Red Bull won the Mexico Grand Prix, Valterri Bottas, who drives for Mercedes AMG, finished second and Kimi Raikkamonen, who drives for Ferrari, finished third.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *